Tickets to Every Brilliant Thing

BUY ONLINE or Central Ticket Office (816) 235-6222


August 16 – September 1, 2019
Kansas City premiere! 

by Duncan Macmillan and Jonny Donahoe

Directed by Doug Weaver. Featuring R. H. Wilhoit

You’re seven years old. Mom’s in the hospital. Dad says she’s “done something wrong.” She finds it hard to be happy. So you start to make a list of everything that’s brilliant about the world. Everything that’s worth living for. 1. Ice cream. 2. Kung Fu movies… 6. Me. You leave it on her pillow. You know she’s read it because she’s corrected your spelling. So begins a moving, insightful and hilarious new one-person play that is unlike anything you’ve seen before. Audiences are taken on a remarkable journey that truly examines what makes life worth living – and the power of theatre to bring people together.

  • Friday, August 16 at 7:30pm
  • Saturday, August 17 at 7:30pm – Opening Night Reception
  • Sunday, August 18 at 2:00pm
  • Wednesday, August 21 at 7:30pm
  • Thursday, August 22 at 7:30pm – Talkback Following
  • Friday, August 23 at 7:30pm – ASL-interpreted performance
  • Saturday, August 24 at 7:30pm
  • Sunday, August 25 at 2:00pm – ASL-interpreted performance
  • Wednesday, August 28 at 7:30pm
  • Thursday, August 29 at 7:30pm
  • Friday, August 30 at 7:30pm
  • Saturday, August 31 at 7:30pm
  • Sunday, September 1 at 2:00pm

EVERY BRILLIANT THING runs just over one hour and is performed without intermission.

Johnson County Arts and Heritage Center – Spinning Tree’s new home – offers infrared hearing devices that can be used with or without hearing aids.

EVERY BRILLIANT THING is rated PG-13 for adult subject matter.

at Johnson County Arts and Heritage Center – 8788 Metcalf Ave., Overland Park, KS 66212